What Are The Stages Of Uterine Prolapse?

Learn About The Various Stages Of Uterine Prolapse

Uterine prolapse befalls when debilitated or impaired muscles and connective tissues such as ligaments permit the uterus to drop into the vagina. Common reasons take account of pregnancy, childbirth, hormonal changes after menopause, obesity, severe coughing and strain on the toilet. Treatment choices consist of pelvic floor workouts and also herbal medications.

Reasons of uterine prolapse

The pelvic floor and related supporting connective tissues can be weakened or impaired in several ways including:

  • pregnancy, particularly in the case of multiple births of maybe twins or triplets, or multiple pregnancies
  • vaginal childbirth, particularly if the baby was big or delivered rapidly, or if there was a lengthy pushing phase
  • obesity
  • straining on the toilet to pass a bowel motion
  • low levels of the sex hormone oestrogen after menopause
  • severe coughing related with disorders such as chronic bronchitis or asthma
  • fibroids
  • In rare circumstances, pelvic tumor.

Stages of uterine prolapse

There might be a question in your mind i.e. what are the stages of uterine prolapse. Uterine prolapse is defined in stages, specifying how far it has tilted. The four groupings or stages of uterine prolapse are:

  • Stage I – the uterus is in the upper half of the vagina
  • Stage II – the uterus has inclined virtually to the opening of the vagina
  • Stage III – the uterus obtrudes out of the vagina

Stage IV – the uterus is totally out of the vagina.